Faculty News

May 5, 2022

Department of Computer Science adds two new faculty

After a year-long search, the Department of Computer Science has hired two new faculty.

Dr. Diane Litman
April 26, 2022

Dr. Diane Litman and LRDC collaborators awarded new NSF grant

Diane Litman and collaborators Richard Correnti and Lindsay Clare Matsumura were awarded a new National Science Foundation grant for their work in the Learning Research & Development Center this week.

March 25, 2022

Dr. Panos Chrysanthis chosen for inaugural class of IEEE Computer Society Distinguished Contributors

Dr. Panos Chrysanthis was selected as part of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society's inaugural 2021 Class of Distinguished Contributors.

March 18, 2022

5 Pitt Computer Science faculty awarded Momentum Funds grants

During the 2022 round of funding, five faculty from our department were awarded Pitt Momentum Funds grants for projects they lead or collaborated on with faculty from other departments.

March 18, 2022

New to Pitt: Interdisciplinary research drew Alikhani to SCI

Malihe Alikhani has devoted the early years of her career to promoting diversity in computer research. Joining Pitt in fall 2020 as an assistant professor of computer science in the School of Computing and Information (SCI), Alikhani says she has always looked for “research that has real impact.” It shows in the projects she has been involved in.

Drs. Diane Litman and Rebecca Hwa
March 17, 2022

Drs. Diane Litman and Rebecca Hwa awarded Pitt Momentum Funds Scaling Grant

Department of Computer Science faculty Diane Litman and Rebecca Hwa were awarded a 2022 Pitt Momentum Funds Scaling Grant for their work on the Center for Text Analytic Methods in Legal Studies.

February 21, 2022

Rob Rutenbar receives Pioneering Achievement Award

Senior Vice Chancellor for Research Rob A. Rutenbar has been named the 2021 SIGDA Pioneering Achievement Award recipient by the Association for Computing Machinery Special Interest Group on Design Automation (ACM SIGDA) for his “extraordinary leadership in analog design automation and general EDA education.”

Dr. Xulong Tang
February 16, 2022

Xulong Tang receives Pitt Momentum Funds Seedling Grant

Department of Computer Science professor Dr. Xulong Tang received a Pitt Momentum Funds seedling grant.

Four CS faculty were awarded a Pitt Momentum Funds Seedling Grant
February 10, 2022

Pitt CS faculty awarded 2022 Momentum Funds

The Pitt Momentum Fund issued a grant to a collaboration of four faculty from the Department of Computer Science this week as part of the program's 2022 funding. 

February 9, 2022

AMPED consortium receives NSF IUCRC planning grant

The Advanced Magnetics for Power and Energy Development (AMPED) Consortium has received a $60,000 planning grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF.) The award will be evenly split between the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University and North Carolina State University. 

Coimbra, Portugal. Home of BuildSys 2021
January 27, 2022

Dr. Stephen Lee and Dr. Daniel Mosse receive Best Paper Runner Up at BuildSys 2021

Along with Dr. Yoones Rezaei, CS faculty Dr. Stephen Lee and Dr. Daniel Mosse received a Best Paper Runner Up award from BuildSys 2021 for their paper "Deep Reinforcement Learning for Energy-efficient Parking Video Analytics Platform."

Dr. Malihe Alikhani
December 13, 2021

Dr. Malihe Alikhani and collaborators awarded DARPA grant

Dr. Malihe Alikhani and collaborators awarded DARPA grant for their project developing AI moderators for social media.

December 13, 2021

Dr. Xiaowei Jia awarded best paper at the 2021 International Conference on Data Mining

Dr. Xiaowei Jia and collaborators were awarded the best paper award at the 2021 IEEE International Conference on Data Mining (IEEE ICDM).

Dr. Takis Benos
December 10, 2021

December 10 Colloquium "Multi-scale Data Integration and Causal Inference for Biological and Medical Research" -- Takis Benos

Dr. Takis Benos (Department of Computational and Systems Biology, Department of Biomedical Informatics, Department of Computer Science) will deliver a CS colloquium talk at 2 p.m. on December 10th.

Dr. Lingfei Wu
December 3, 2021

December 3 Colloquium "Aging Scientists and Slowed Advance" -- Lingfei Wu

Lingfei Wu is a computational social scientist interested in discovering how innovation is made in Science and Technology and effective team mechanisms that accelerate this process. He will deliver a CS Colloquium talk on Friday, December 3rd at 2 p.m.